- Both parties (spouse 1 and spouse 2) must be age 18 or over and must apply in person at the same time.
- Two forms of identification are required:
(1) A valid photo identification issued by the federal or state government. The photo identification must have the correct legal name, date of birth and signature of the applicant. The following valid proofs of photo identifications are accepted:
— Driver’s license (U.S. state or government)
— U.S. military identification
— State identification card (U.S. state or government)
— Alien registration card
(2) A second form of identification is required if the applicant has been issued a U.S. Social Security number. In accordance with Florida State Statute, any person who has been issued a Social Security number will need to provide that number. Any person who is not a citizen of the U.S. may provide either a Social Security number or an alien registration number, if one has been issued. If neither has been issued, another form of identification may be required.
- If 16 or 17 years of age, both parents must sign and have notarized a Certificate of Consent for Marriage. If under 16 years a court order must be obtained. The exception is a minor who has been married before, as they are considered an adult.
- No blood tests are required.
- You do not need to be a Florida resident to obtain a marriage license. Marriage licenses can be obtained in any Florida county for use anywhere in the state within 60 days of the date of issue.
- By law, the Family Law Handbook must be read before you get a marriage license.
– – Click HERE to view or download the Family Law Handbook in English
– – Click HERE to view or download the Family Law Handbook in Spanish
- If either applicant has been previously married, the exact date of the last divorce, annulment or death or must be provided.
- The marriage license is good for 60 days from the effective date and can be used anywhere in the State of Florida, however, there is a 3 day waiting period if both parties are Florida residents and have not taken an approved marriage class. (If you are not a Florida resident, there is not a 3 day waiting period.) The cost of the license is generally $86. If the couple has attended an approved marriage counseling class the price is reduced to $61.00. The provider of the class must be listed with the Clerks office. Click HERE for a list of marriage class providers.
For more information, here are some resources you might find helpful: